Episode 9: The Never-ending Shame Cycle

The Valley of Grace Podcast
The Valley of Grace Podcast
Episode 9: The Never-ending Shame Cycle

Last week, I posted Episode 8:  The Fear and Exhaustion Cocktail.  You can find that podcast here.  This week’s podcast is entitled, “Episode 9:  The Never-Ending Shame Cycle.”

ptsd, brokenness, Abraham, Sarah, Hagar, shame, cycle, Genesis, emotional health, mental health, vicious cycle
Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

Outline of Episode 9:  The Never-ending Shame Cycle

  • Definition of Guilt and Shame
  • Three Parts of Shame
  • Hagar’s Shame Cycle
  • My Shame Cycle
  • Ending the Shame Cycle
  • Bible Verses to Reflect On 

1 Corinthians 6: 9-11

Or do you not know that wrongdoers will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived: Neither the sexually immoral nor idolaters nor adulterers nor men who have sex with men

nor thieves nor the greedy nor drunkards nor slanderers nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God.

And that is what some of you were. But you were washed, you were sanctified, you were justified in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ and by the Spirit of our God.

Luke 15: 19-22

19 I am no longer worthy to be called your son; make me like one of your hired servants.’ 20 So he got up and went to his father.

“But while he was still a long way off, his father saw him and was filled with compassion for him; he ran to his son, threw his arms around him and kissed him.

21 “The son said to him, ‘Father, I have sinned against heaven and against you. I am no longer worthy to be called your son.’

22 “But the father said to his servants, ‘Quick! Bring the best robe and put it on him. Put a ring on his finger and sandals on his feet. 23 Bring the fattened calf and kill it. Let’s have a feast and celebrate. 24 For this son of mine was dead and is alive again; he was lost and is found.’ So they began to celebrate.